State of the Net Conference
Hyatt Regency, Washington, DC
February 9, 2005, 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM

About the Conference | Agenda | Media Advisory | Video and Audio

Contact: Danielle Yates
[email protected]

Media Advisory

Congressional Internet Caucus Advisory Committee Announces Speakers and Panel Debates For State of the Net Conference

Senator Ted Stevens to Keynote the Full-Day Policy Conference

On Wednesday, February 9, 2005, the Congressional Internet Caucus Advisory Committee will host the 2005 State of the Net Conference to explore the top policy issues that will drive policymaking in the 109th Congress. The conference will address three major issue tracks: 1) trust, privacy and security; 2) intellectual property protection and innovation; and 3) media convergence and the Telecom Act rewrite. The Congressional Internet Caucus State of the Net Conference is designed to give those who follow policy developments a first look at the policy direction and challenges of the new Congress, incorporating exhibits and opportunities to network with lawmakers and industry leaders. Panel debates will include such topics as:


The conference festivities will commence on Tuesday, February 8, with a Pre-Conference VIP Reception at the Capitol View Lounge of the Hyatt Regency on Capitol Hill. The conference will officially start on Wednesday, February 9, with a full day of keynotes, general and breakout sessions, culminating in the Eighth Annual Internet Caucus Kick-off Reception and Technology Fair in a Senate Office Building.

Conference Keynotes, General and Breakout Sessions- February 9, 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM (Registration Required)

Conference Activities- Hyatt Regency on Capitol Hill
400 New Jersey Avenue, NW
Washington, DC 20001

Registration is required to attend the conference. Please visit for more information and to register.
Press welcome at no charge. Please post to press calendars or daybooks.


* Agenda is under development and is subject to change.

Danielle Yates at [email protected] or 202-638-4370 for more information.

This event is hosted in conjunction with the Internet Caucus and its co-chairs--Senators Conrad Burns (R-MT) and Patrick Leahy (D-VT), and Congressmen Bob Goodlatte (R-VA) and Rick Boucher (D-VA).